Related Events

The 1st International STEAM Education Forum (STEAMEC 2017)

Science education reform in the 21st century has adopted the idea of interdisciplinary approaches. From the idea of Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM), the notion now transforms to Science, Technology, Engineering, Art, and Mathematics (STEAM). The complexities of world challenges like climate change and the need to produce well-rounded workforce for the sustainable economic development require a new approach of education which is interconnected, multidisciplinary, and encourage an authentic collaboration between all stakeholders.

The STEAM notion, which adds Art to the STEAM notion, has opened a new possibility of bringing all stakeholders from the government, educational institutions, civil societies, business, and industries to work together in a common platform. The STEAM movement creates a new type of education that can produce new generation of learners and workers for an ever-challenging world. To lead the reform movement, we proudly present to you the inaugural 1st International STEAM Education Conference 2017 (1st STEAMEC 2017) for all stakeholders in the STEAM areas. This conference is the first STEAM conference held in Malaysia and may provide a great opportunity to all stakeholders in STEAM to participate in establishing a STEAM Network in the near future.


Kementerian Pendidikan Tinggi
International Federation of Engineering Education Societies
Society of Engineering Education Malaysia
Universiti Teknologi Malaysia

Supported By

Malaysia Council of Engineering Deans                Malaysia Ministry of Tourism And Culture                Malaysia Convention & Exhibition Bureau                Malaysia Truly Asia

Silver Sponsor

Associate Sponsor

Dassault Systemes
Math Works         EMGS         MMC Corporation Berhad

Technical Co-Sponsor

Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers



Universiti Teknologi Petronas
Philippine Association of Engineering Schools       Universitas Indonesia       Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia       Universiti Sains Malaysia       Universiti Teknologi Mara       Universiti Tun Hussein Onn Malaysia